The Horse Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, I was riding duke today and got some pictures from a friend and I feel like I look like a sack of potatoes.

I know since I started riding I have lost weight as I can actually put jeans on and do them up that I couldn't even get past my thighs a few months ago.

What exercises do you all do to get into shape?
Screenshot_20210501-221519_Telegram.jpg
Screenshot_20210501-221404_Telegram.jpg

·
Registered
I have a buckskin lease horse named Buckie! I’m so excited for out journey together!
14 Posts
Honestly, I think your being to hard on yourself! Your posture looks fine! But, I take walks and runs a lot, and even maybe just go outside and play frisbee of catch with a friend!

·
Registered
588 Posts
You do not look like a sack of potatoes, you look great! You must be doing something right if you're fitting into those pants now.

I allowed myself to get quite out of shape over the last year and am concentrating on exercises to make riding easier. I've been doing lots of squats and lateral pull-downs because those work the muscles necessary to mount from the ground. Walking on the treadmill, and the rowing machine help with core strength. I hate situps and crunches so I'm glad to have the rowing machine. When I went trail riding over the weekend with friends I thanked myself for the strengthening I've done. I did have to mount from the ground a few times and I'm not sure I could have done that a couple months ago.

·
Registered
Ladybird, my heart horse (bay mare), and Budgie, my beloved cob (dapple grey mare)
28 Posts