The Horse Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

Riding Journey and Progress, Will I ever get into Shows? Should I lease a horse now? How high could i jump by the end of next year?

2K views 8 replies 6 participants last post by  Acadianartist 
#1 ·
I've started riding 3 years ago. However, I wasn't consistent, and I would be riding on and off meaning I would take a lot of monthly breaks in between. Also, I didn't ride for most of 2020 due to COVID. I've also moved recently so it took some time to find another barn and I've found the right barn for me. I started riding in this barn about 6-7 months ago, and I could say I'm pretty consistent. I'm still taking my lessons and haven't took any break since. I've been getting really motivated this time and fell in love with riding even more and I will be starting riding consistently from now on. I could say I'm progressing really fast as well. I'm very comfortable with my walk, trot, and canter, and I've cantered and trotted over cavalettis and I'm very balanced. I've been recently jumping 30cm or 1'0 crossrails and i'm very in control and balanced and confident in my two-point position while jumping. I wouldn't say I'm rushing as I'm very confident at my current level and I love new challenges. I'm wondering whether I should start leasing a horse since I'm only riding a TB lesson horse at my barn. Is it the right time to be leasing a horse now? I also never went to any shows :/ So I'm wondering when I should start to do all that. I have the money to get into a show, but I just don't know when the right time is for me. Considering I'm progressing quick and at this pace, I'm wondering whether I will ever get into a show possibly next year? And, if I would lease a horse, what qualities should I look for in that horse? And I'm also really hoping to jump the 0.80s or about 2'6 at the end of next year but I'm not sure whether that is a realistic goal for me to set or not? I would love to hear your opinions on this