The Horse Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
148 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have mild cerebral palsy and I ride.ive been ridding for 5 years now and Im Going to be ridding at a new place.ive worked my tail off to get to where I am.my stance is its none of their business and to not disclose it.if they can tell and ask fine if not then they don't.my friend on the other hand thinks I should tell.
What do you think?

·
Super Moderator
27,577 Posts
I would probably tell. It's nothing to be ashamed of. I just think in order for them to be able to guide you, they may need to take this into consideration. They may want to get "smart" about it as well. They are going to need to know what your muscles can and can't do and if you have any joint involvement or learning disabilities that may go with it. I see nothing wrong with you sharing that information.

Are you worried they will treat you differently?

Reactions: 2BigReds

·
Registered
5,181 Posts
I personally would tell them. If you withhold that information from them, you may not be covered by their insurance.

CP is nothing to be ashamed of, and if they make you feel like you shouldn't have told them, well they need more education.

·
Registered
784 Posts
I get this, because I have MS. It's in remission so you can't tell anything is wrong from just watching me move. I don't like to tell people because a lot of times people freak out and start acting weird if they know.

I didn't tell my trainer for a long time, and then it only came up because the heat just slays me, so I needed to get my lessons very early in the day during the summer.