The Horse Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Banned
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just moved to a new barn where there isn’t a mirror in the arena. It’s a hunter/jumper barn. I only take 1 lesson a week and am struggling with self improvement. Previously I was able to make breakthroughs and deepens understanding on my own because I could see what I was doing while I was doing it and make adjustments. I’ve tried recording but it doesn’t seem to help as well, because I have to go back and look at it and can’t make changes until after.

Any tips for this? I have yet to discuss it with my trainer, but am planning to.

It is causing pretty big issues even during lessons for me, because I just cannot feel very easily what I’m doing and become overwhelmed. This was true for me even before I started riding with a mirror.

·
Registered
1,224 Posts
Mirrors are a great tool because they can help you in the moment to see what's going on and fix it, but it's also easy to become dependent on them. Definitely talk with your trainer and see if they have any tips, but I think this is something that will just come down to time. Maybe during your lessons you could spend a chunk of time just working on feeling what is right, while working on something you and horse are confident with. And since your instructor is there on the ground they can tell you if you're doing it correctly or not so you can make changes in the moment. As for improving while you're on your own, that will just take time and practice to get to the point where you can feel what is happening. Again, focus on things you are already confident with, to start.

It's kind of like when you first were learning to ride and would have to look down to check your diagonals at trot. But over time, and training yourself to not glance down, you've learned to feel it and it's easy to know which diagonal you are on. :) Good luck!

·
Registered
Elle, 1997 Oldenburg mare
2,085 Posts