The Horse Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
99 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Okay so as I have explained in other posts, I am totally new to the gaited horse world (not horses in general). My new boy is a Rocky Mountain Horse. I thought they all came in one color. Apparently they don't, and I can't seem to find a key online even on the Rocky Mountain Horse Association site that shows pictures of the differences in color, of which I am told can be pretty slight! Apparently they come in chocolate, dark chocolate, grey, champagne, silver bay, and more. This guy has lighter legs than the rest of his body, and has some striping on his upper legs (I will have to get pictures of this, I don't have any currently up close).

Would he be considered a chocolate? Thanks in advance!

Attachments

·
Registered
1,334 Posts
I would personally consider him chocolate - any searches I've done don't really show a difference between chocolate and dark chocolate.

·
Registered
99 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I would personally consider him chocolate - any searches I've done don't really show a difference between chocolate and dark chocolate.
I'm just curious because he is lighter in places on his legs, and he has striping. The ones I've seen are solid. It's just weird. It doesn't really matter I'm just curious.

·
Registered
7,053 Posts
Genetically, he has either one or two Silver Dilute genes (they look the same), on a black base coat. The dilution gene turns black to a shade of chocolate or liver, and the mane and tail are lightened. Silver dilute does not affect the coat color of genetically red horses (though they can be carriers).