The Horse Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Banned
283 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello :D

I'm a complete noob when it comes to rugs, so I wanted to ask a couple questions about it! Sorry if some of these have obvious answers.

1) Does it affect the horse's coat condition? I know rugging stops other horses from biting the coat out, but does it affect the length or make it easier or harder to get diseases?

2) Is rugging year-round bad? I've heard mixed things. The reason I wanted to keep some sort of rug on is because he's always in a paddock with lots of other horses, he tends to get patches of hair that are ripped out.

3) Do neck rugs rub the mane out? My parents said that that's why our old horses have half their mane gone. But when I googled it, most people said that it didn't. Does it just depend on what sort of neck rug they are wearing?

4) How does rug fitting work? The way we did it was just measuring how tall Ninja was and then looking at the chart thing that said how big of a rug they should have for their height. Are there any other factors? Is it like with saddles where their back shape effects the fit?

5) How close should the straps fit? I feel like the ones around his back legs are quite tight? I'm not sure if it's just because the other horse's rugs are too loose though. Is there a method to see? Like you have 4 fingers in the throatlash?

6) Are there any materials that rugs are made of that are better than others? Someone said that nylon-lined rugs are good, so I'm just curious if the materials affect the rug's quality significantly.

No pressure to answer all of them (or any of them :D) I know there's a tonne! It's not an urgent topic either! If you do answer any though, thank you in advance :))

·
Super Moderator
14,721 Posts
We all were new to rugs/blanketing at one time or another...you learn by asking and you learn by doing and making some mistakes along the way too..