The Horse Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
496 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i just started riding english a while ago and i was always using a square pad underneath a shaped pad. is this the right way to use it or can i just use whichever i want?i have a fleece shaped pad and a quilted square pad if it makes any diffrence.thnx!

·
Registered
338 Posts
first of all, welcome to english! what your doing is perfectly fine! however, one of the most common way pads are used it a square pad and a fleece so you can also do that. As long as the saddle fits, its also fine to just use a flece pad

·
Registered
496 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
can i also just use a square pad?i was thinking about getting a new square pad but i didnt know if it would be as comfortable for my horse.my saddle fits her fine but it slips a little when i ride.i tighten the girth up periodically and it still slips. any help?

·
Registered
338 Posts
i do know people who only use a square pad, im assuming its fine if your confident that the saddle fits your horse. the theory is if the saddle fits perfect, no pad is needed, but i always use something for comfort. as for why your saddle slips, it may be that it needs to be secured to the pad with the billet straps, but its hard to be sure without seeing. it would help to know what you mean by slips, is it falling to the side?

·
Registered
496 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
yes its falling to the side ever so slightly. whats a billet strap?is it the straps on the saddle pad?i thought they attached some wheres but i couldnt figure out where.(you can tell im a novice in english!)im thinking about getting a smaller girth.

·
Registered
338 Posts
haha we all have to start somewhere! the billet straps are the straps on the pad that help secure the saddle, heres a video to help