The Horse Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am looking for a 16.5" cc/jump saddle. I have one but it does not fit the horse and I need to upgrade the size. It s a courbette cc 16" that I am selling for $350 on a few facebook pages and fb marketplace, but no one has contacted me about it. Is that too much for the type of saddle I am selling? I plan to use the money from the sale and a little more money to buy a used saddle that fits me and I can use. Does this sound reasonable or do I have too high expectations? It's my first time doing this and I am not too experienced in the world of saddles. I know about as much as any other equestrian and know what I am looking for and what to steer clear of. I contacted a tack store selling saddles but they said they could not sell it for me. It's a extremely comfortable saddle with nice leather and little discoloration and wear. Completely sound tree as well. I hope to get it sold asap so I can look for a saddle soon and know my budget. What is the most important thing to say in an advertisement? Where is the best place to advertise this? How do I get the best deal?

·
Registered
1,334 Posts
Do you have a picture of it? Does it have knee rolls?

Best thing you can do when pricing a saddle is checking what the saddle is selling for (or not selling for!) on Ebay.

To get it to sell quicker, measurements, measurements, measurements. Seat measurement and button-to-button measurement are most important, you can also add in flap length and width, along with point of tree to point of tree measurement. The more information, the more likely you are to find a buyer.

I sell most of my saddles on FB Marketplace and in FB groups (like "Used Tack for Sale in XYZ State"). I also sell on EBay, but they take a portion of your sales unless you are an Ebay member. Craigslist can be good, depending on where you live.

Reactions: CrazyMaisie

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·