The Horse Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 71 Posts

·
Registered
457 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I have heard that toothpaste is a cure (not scientifically proven) for sarcoids. There is not much evidence of this, as not many people have tried and documented it. I have decided that, being as my horse has many sarcoids (all currently benign) and scaley patches, that I would do the experiment, with Indi's help of course.

Originally, people have tried Crest brand toothpaste, however, it's no longer around in England. I have heard that it is the Fluoride in the toothpaste that eliminates (possibly anyway) the sarcoid. I'm a dental nurse, so I have access to toothpaste fairly readily, so I decided to buy the toothpaste with the highest fluoride available, without a prescription. So, I bought Duraphat 2800. I also bought Duraphat Rinse (mouth wash). These products have the highest fluoride content available without a script (to my knowledge), and the toothpaste cost around £5, the rinse around £3.70.

I intend to first spray on the rinse (watered down to make it last longer) to the sarcoids (including the scaley patches), then topically apply the toothpaste to them. Here are the before pictures (they are white where I have been applying an antiseptic over a few days just to keep them clean in the mean time) I've also included a "diagram" (don't laugh at my ridiculous drawings, I'm no artist!) of where they are located.

Diagrams. (Key: O = Sarcoid; # = Scaley Patch) and Pictures:
*(By the way, sorry for rambling, I just want to be thorough. If you're interested, please subscribe, I'll try to update often, and any questions, please ask)

Diagram 1 - Indi's left side
Picture 1 - Above her right Eye
Pic 2 - right side neck
Pic 3 - under chin (blurred, sorry)
Diagram 2 - Indi's right side
Pic 4 - Inner right thigh
Pic 5 - Left side neck
Pic 6 - Next to lip, left side

Attachments

·
Registered
457 Posts
Discussion Starter #2