The Horse Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello :)

My lease mare, Briar, has recently started to lose weight. I first noticed about 3 weeks ago, and had a fecal count done on which showed up negative (no worms). I've booked her in for the dentist- that wont be happening for a few weeks though, because they were all booked up.

Briar is now 23 years old, 14.2', and 3/4 Quarter horse 1/4 Welsh. I've been leasing her for roughly 3 years now, and she's always been an extremely easy keeper. I'll be getting in touch with her owners soon, but thought I'd hit you guys up too and see if you have any ideas!

At the moment she's getting about 4-5 leaves of meadow hay a day (in a greedy feeder hay net), along with Mitavite Gumnuts (which is what her owners recommended when we got her). She was only getting half a yogurt container a day (the container is 1kg), but when I noticed her weight loss I upped it to a full container.

I haven't made any changes to her feed other then the Gumnuts and a slight increase of hay. The only real change has been switching to a slow feeder hay net to reduce the wastage, which does have very tiny holes. But she seems to manage fine.

We are only just heading into Spring, so she is rugged at night with a 100g rug, whereas before she had a 300g. I switched to a lighter one before the 300g was far too hot. Just trying to think of anything that could possibly upset things in her metabolism! :p

Any ideas? Extra feed? Supplements?

·
Registered
9,300 Posts