The Horse Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am relatively new to horse ownership . I have two horses now. One is a 13 year old dapple grey mare,(Morgan /Thoroughbred cross ) , and a 16 .year old gelding ( Arabian) rescue . Was under wt. and wormy , one and a half years ago.
Looking good now! They are both together in a one acre pasture , in the summer, and in a 3/4 acre dry lot in the winter. (Water is turned off in Pasture in winter) Under ground fed water trough in dry lot , for winter.
The Mare is fine when riding alone away from her partner, but as soon as you turn in a direction towards home she gets all jiggy , wants to hop , fights the bit , and head bobs . Gets a bit taxing to fight her all the way home. I am only riding her ,twice a week.

She is hot blooded. prone to founder, and was neglected for years , within a herd of eight or 10 horses . I have had her for two years, and have worked with her on ground training and riding with a snaffle bit. when I first got her she would not leave the pasture and trail ride . I have made a lot of progress, but not sure how to keep her calm on the ride home?

I am going to get a vet to check her teeth , to see if they need floating. I am thinking it is more of behavior issue , since it happens mostly on the way home. When she starts acting up , I will stop her, turn her around , from home for a fifty feet or so. She walks on a slack reins , we turn for home and she pulls , Jigs , and even hops sideways . It is very unsettling.
Any training tips would be appreciated ? I really do not have a place to separate them . I could tie her up somewhere out of sight of the gelding? And have done that some. Just not sure if there is a combination of things I could be doing? Any help would be appreciated!

·
Registered
72 Posts