The Horse Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1,175 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a complete novice when it comes to shipping horses. Any horse we have gotten out of state was generally in a state conjoined to ours. But we recently, we always meaning I, fell in love with a pair of horses that are quite a good distance away. I've ogled at horses from other states before but I realized that I was in a state of insanity to think I'd drive 15 hours to get the ******. Add in driving that far and the horse being a crap shoot, well, I just don't know how it would be worth it.

But now I have gotten myself into an interesting position once again. Years ago I met a wonderful filly who just blew my mind with how fabulous she is. Now, in my search for a stud colt, I veered back to the same farm where this filly resides. The stud colt I have more or less settled on and that filly are of outstanding bloodlines, and I could get a very good deal on them. Talented, and exactly what I aim to breed. The only catch is, again, they are on the other side of the country. I have made the twenty four hour (one way, mind you!) drive and I am not sure I could do it again.

So the question stands, can shipping be an "affordable" way to do it in comparison to hauling yourself and more so my question is if you share the trailer with a few other horses will it be cheaper? The breeder has a reputable hauler who has hauled for her in the past. There is also someone who is looking to buy a colt off of her and shipping it up a few states away. I was almost thinking if meeting the hauler half-way might ease our pocket book?