The Horse Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I’m not new to horses but I am new to keeping a single horse. I recently moved back to my childhood farm after my fathers passing. Missing horses I bought a Mini mare from a kill pen. She’s three years old and although it doesn’t seem she’s abused, she hasn’t been handled a lot. She leads beautifully and loves neck and back scratches but tries to nip or threatens to kick when you push her comfort zone. In the two weeks she’s been here she has made great strides and loves to go on long walks with me. But she is so lonely! She calls for me and also is super interested in the neighbors minis. Since we have lots of coyotes in the neighborhood her stall time is with the barn doors closed. We also have a young dog who I like to supervise when they interact. Currently she’s in a 12x12 stall and is turned out in a 36x36 paddock for hours a day. If she hears another horse she starts pacing trying to find a way out of the fence.
I have so many questions but my main one right now is does she need a friend? I have the opportunity to add a 7 month old mini colt weanling. I never had problems with a mixed herd ( other than a late gelded stallion who would mount the mares but they all loved him and were buddies.) but the more I read on here a mare and (future) gelding could be trouble together? Also will it slow her progress or help her settle in and feel safe? How do I introduce them if I do get him?
It seems silly that I was so confident with all kinds of troublesome large horses and I’m a worry wart about this little adventurous mare!thanks in advance for any advice! Lauren

·
Banned
1,575 Posts
Hi Lauren! Welcome to the forum!