The Horse Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello!!! I’m going to try to keep this short and simple. But I have been following a horse trainer for 3 years now, and just started branching off on my own to start breaking my own colts and fillies. Im still working under him and at his facility, but I’m on my own time and making my own money.

Anyway, I’m working with around 7 right now. All doing great, except one 3 year old filly. She started off great, I’ve got about 7 rides on her. She is very intelligent, already side passes and will move off my leg with ease. Last ride, she spooked so bad she flipped over backwards on top of me and sat on me as well. Scariest thing that’s ever happened to me and definitely a first for me. I’ve had several people tell me I need to send her home. I’ve worked with so many colts and fillies now, and still this is a first. In all honesty, I’ve never even had one rear before. I’m a very patient trainer and I’ve been taught to have the softest hands and rely on my seat and legs. I don’t want to give up on her, but I do NOT want to kill myself breaking her!

This is what happened. I was working her in the outdoor arena, all was going well. Had been trotting her for maybe 10 minutes working on softness in the face and bending at the pole. A truck and trailer zoomed by going super fast and rattling super loud. She took off bolting and I pulled her in a one rein stop and she instantly gave me her head and slowed and stopped. We were then facing the trailer and she had stopped. I petted her, told her she was a good girl, then she ran backwards and flipped over on me. Completely extreme I thought!! I’ve had them buck and bolt, but never this.

What is your opinion?

·
Registered
3,054 Posts