The Horse Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi!
I have been riding in lessons for about 14 months now and work at the farm that I ride at. One of the lesson horses suffered a stifle injury that has him on stall rest for at least a year. I have taken it upon myself (with the permission of the barn owner) to help with his rehab. He needs to be hand walked daily since he can't be turned out and obviously can't be ridden. He's been on stall rest for almost 3 months and I've been working with him for about 2 weeks. According to the other staff, he never had the best ground manners before the injury. He will stand for grooming and maybe 50% of the time he behaves. But on several occasions he spooks, rears and generally is a handful. I've added a stud chain to his halter (over the nose) and it helps a little. We only walk where it is quiet and when I can we bring a buddy that's stabled near him with another person walking that horse. The owner of the barn doesn't want him to have any sedatives. Any tips on keeping him and myself safe? Much appreciated. Thanks!1

·
Registered
6,082 Posts
I have never had stall rest work very well. They usually get too much pent up energy and always re-injure themselves bucking or something.
If it were me I would have him on regular paddock turnout especially if your talking long term

·
Banned
2,469 Posts
What are they feeding him? A horse on long-term stall rest doesn't need grain, just a mineral supplement. Hard feed gives them energy they don't need.

Reactions: jae12382

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #4