The Horse Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 53 Posts

·
Registered
112 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 6 month old stud colt. I have had him about two weeks. He has been very gentle and easy to work with. I haven't had any experience with with working with stud colt or horses for that matter. What can I expect from him? Will he become more assertive as time goes on? He hasn't dropped down yet. Will I notice a big change when he does? He is had of a great blood line and I am not sure if I want to get him cut yet. I may want to use him as a stud, at least have the option.

Need some advice on what to expect.....

·
Registered
3,787 Posts
First question: Why keep him intact?

Secondly: As he grows older, he will grow more dominant. I have no personal experience with stallions, but I have friends who do. IF handled correctly, they can be good citizens and trustworthy, well behaved. But you better know what you're doing with them, and it takes a LOT of handling to get them there.

I don't subscribe to the belief that all stallions are rude and dangerous - no more than I believe mares are all hateful hags and unworthy of doing more than being baby factories.

But.

The saying is: Ask a stallion, tell a gelding, negotiate with a mare.

There's a lot of truth in that.

But back to my first question: Why keep him intact at all?

·
Registered
112 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)

See next answer, it came up twice sorry, I am still new to forums and I am learning as I go. Sorry!!

Reactions: boots

·
Registered
112 Posts
Discussion Starter #4