The Horse Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1,061 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm looking to switch riding instructors. I've outgrown my previous instructor, and want to go in a different direction. I've been taking lessons from her since I started riding 13 years ago. She's taught me a lot, but she's more of a stock-type, all-around instructor/trainer. She teaches general English and Western pleasure, and driving, working mostly with Quarter Horses and Appaloosas. I want to delve more into traditional English riding, and take dressage and jumping lessons from someone with more specific experience in that area.

I found an instructor through the grape vine, and exchanged a few emails with her. She's willing to travel to my barn, and seems to fit what I'm looking for in an instructor. I'm planning on auditing a few lessons before I take a lesson myself.

My question is: What do you look for when looking for a new riding instructor? What questions should I ask, and what are some things I should look out for (good and bad)?

·
Registered
1,117 Posts
Think about instructors you have had in all areas of your life. Think of the ones you enjoyed and why- make that priority when auditing. Some people like tough love, others enjoy a more gentle approach with instruction.

Make sure she can/ will get your barn's name on her insurance card.

Ask what her policy is if something comes up and you can't make your lesson time. Is there a 24 hour policy? Rescheduling possibilities?

If you plan on showing ask what her rates are for shows.

Ask what she as instructor wants her riders to take away from her lessons.

A lot of these questions may be answered just from your audit, but it never hurts to ask.

Reactions: kiltsrhott

·
Registered
502 Posts