The Horse Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
(I'm posting this in this thread because I think the topic spans all disciplines and wasn't sure where else it would fit - feel free to suggest a more relevant forum!)

I have been riding for about 15 years and have a Masters in Child Development, so this is a dual passion for me.

Has anyone come across a structured program/approach to teaching lessons to young children that relies on understanding how the child's brain and body mature in stages? For example, visualization techniques and balance exercises would look much different for a 5 year old than a 10 year old even if they started riding at the same time.

I'm excited by the possibility of exploring this more - what are your thoughts? If you heard about a lesson program being based on that philosophy, would you be intrigued or would you think it was just a bunch of BS?

·
Registered
3,860 Posts
(I'm posting this in this thread because I think the topic spans all disciplines and wasn't sure where else it would fit - feel free to suggest a more relevant forum!)

I have been riding for about 15 years and have a Masters in Child Development, so this is a dual passion for me.

Has anyone come across a structured program/approach to teaching lessons to young children that relies on understanding how the child's brain and body mature in stages? For example, visualization techniques and balance exercises would look much different for a 5 year old than a 10 year old even if they started riding at the same time.

I'm excited by the possibility of exploring this more - what are your thoughts? If you heard about a lesson program being based on that philosophy, would you be intrigued or would you think it was just a bunch of BS?
No, they should not look any different. Correct riding is taught the same to all ages, in terms of position, hands, and technique.