The Horse Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone! I want to hear your thoughts and experiences. I'm a riding instructor and I have a boy, age 8, with adhd and a very short attention span. His mom hoped that the horse riding would help. But I'm struggling to keep him on the horse. When he arrives he's very excited to ride for about 2 minutes, then he runs of to go and play with the chickens and the sheep. It's a struggle then to get his attention on the horse again and then after about 5 minutes of riding he decides he have had enough and jumps of and go and play with the chickens again. His mother said I must be very strict with him but that doesn't help, he just switch of mentally. I anyway don't think you should force a kid to ride?? I really don't know what to do! His mother is a very difficult client so I must keep her happy too馃檲 I play a lot of games with them on the horses, which he likes, but only for a minute or two... Any advice would be greatly appreciated 馃槉

Registered
This sounds like a challenging situation. Do you have background/training in working with students with disabilities? I am not as familiar with Riding for the Disabled/Therapeutic Riding in South Africa, but I wonder if you could either get some guidance from someone affiliated with a riding program that specializes in students with disabilities, or even refer your client there?

I think you're astute to note the student switches off mentally if he is this overstimulated. I have never had any luck forcing a kid to ride, particularly when he's not in the mental space to do so. It sounds like mom is driving his participation, and so if he truly isn't interested, then he may never really engage. But I bet there are some steps in between where you are now and deciding the student can't ride at all.