The Horse Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am totally new to Appaloosas - am I correct in considering my new rescue gelding an Appaloosa? Is the a way to tell if he is only Appaloosa or if there is something else? I have no background info on him.

What is the exact name for his pattern?

He is 4 years old and 14hh, is he likely fully grown?

Super sweet and super cute! Now I just have to pick a name for him :)

Thank you!

Attachments

·
Registered
6,959 Posts
WOW, he's beautiful!!!

I will let the appy experts name the pattern (I would just sort of call him a blanket Appaloosa myself).

I would think he is mostly if not all Appaloosa. Maybe Pony of the Americas because of his height? But he really looks more "horse" than pony to me. I don't know........ I just wanted to say he is stunning! He will turn heads wherever he goes. Congratulations!

·
Registered
2,248 Posts
I'm thinking varnish roan, because of the white hairs on the face, etc. I'll post a picture of my 3 yo app, he's varnishing out, and has a blanket like yours.

·
Registered
5,408 Posts
Looks like blanketed with spots, with varnish roan. He will likely get lighter and lighter on his head and neck until he resembles a leopard.

He's a colorful one! Oh, and some lines of foundation type apps can continue growing until they are 5 or 6 .. but since we don't know his breeding.....

·
Registered
2,323 Posts
I would think maybe he's a mix of blanket and leopard patterns?? That's the best I can think of, but even with that his neck looks almost like a grey roan.

I really don't know for sure but he's stunning regardless!

I also agree with the above that he could be a varnish roan with a blanket, like this one:

·
Registered
1,061 Posts