The Horse Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
314 Posts
Not the silly little pictures of you being ignorant and putting your horses' hooves on your heads, hearts, stomachs, laying down underneath them and just general 'omg y r u doing this' poses that you think are so cool, when all they are is really dangerous, and frankly stupid (being an equestrian is dangerous enough- why up the ante?).

Having real trust in your horse is being terrified of doing something but doing it anyway because you know your horse will take care of you.

Brief background; I've been riding Rush for almost 2 years (in October). While he's never done anything dangerous to make me scared of riding him, I do know my limits. He is a lot of horse, and while he doesn't run off with me, he is the typical high strung saddle seat horse that knows his job and is ready to go. He likes to stretch out at the canter (well, hand gallop. We're working on the whole 'getting him to canter' thing.).

I've ridden bareback before, w/t/c, but they were the older, slower lesson horses, or the one I leased before Rush, who didn't have as much go. Like I said, he's never run off on me, and he stops when I tell him too, but the second you put your leg into him, there is no "Hi, are you sure? Okay, if you are sure."- it's just "WHEE LET'S GO :) !!!!!". I was always afraid I'd flop off his back before he could figure out something was wrong. I'm not the strongest bare back rider, but slowly built up my confidence enough to trot him bareback, which much to my surprise, he went from big bad CEP freight train trot to little tiny baby western pleasure trot, but I wasn't feeling risky enough to canter him, since I wasn't sure if he'd slow down for the canter too, or would go into his normal canter/hand gallop, which I can sit just fine in the saddle, but without one would be a different story.