The Horse Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 50 Posts

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Would you buy this horse for 1,500 dollars?

PS I don't own the picture.

I plan on doing western pleasure and hunter under saddle with him, maybe jumping later on. He's 2 in that picture, 16hh. Now he is 3, his legs seem even longer. He is mostly TB, if I remember right.. He was born & raised where I ride. He's pretty good already (from what I've seen when other people have ridden him), and has been through 1 other owner.

Is his confirmation good?

·
Registered
2,473 Posts
I don't like the slope of his back... He looks too downhill? I'm no expert, don't get me wrong, but judging from what people have said about my own horses, that's what I think.

And I also don't think he'd do too well in Western Pleasure, he just doesn't look like a WP, in my opinion.

·
Registered
924 Posts
To me he looks butt high and roach backed which are both conformational flaws. He also looks a little steep in the shoulder and hip as well. I really don't like the way his back/withers/shoulder/neck tie together at all but maybe he grew into it? It can be hard to judge suitability on babies because they get gangly phases and then the even out and you go WOW I didn't expect that. That being said, I would not personally buy him based on that picture for any price. If you try him out and he does exactly what you want and you click then that's entirely up to you as it appears he won't be working overly hard or doing any high level jumping or other strenuous work or competitions. A more recent picture and/or video of him being ridden would help us more accurately help you with confo and suitability questions.

·
Registered
2,747 Posts
his back looks funny to me too... maybe its a bit roach back?