The Horse Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I’m very very new to horses and taking care of them. I’ve got me a new beautiful Applaloosa and he’s got thrush?? In his front feet. So got some Today/tomorrow mastitis meds and put in his heel. It’s got a deep split there (I’m told by the chiropractor that adjusted him). He’s the one told me to do this. My question is this. Is this something I need to do daily after cleaning out his front feet? I’m so new and he is such a good boy.
Horse Sky Plant Tree Working animal

·
Registered
353 Posts
No. Today is a one time mastitis treatment. Clean the collateral sulci and the central sulcus really well and put the tip as deep as you comfortabley can and apply.
After your thrush clears find a product to use infrequently as prevention

·
Premium Member
9,812 Posts
I like No Thrush powder for this purpose. I would pick some of this up and apply daily. Has your new horse seen a trimmer or farrier yet? If not, then you should book an appointment so a professional can assess his feet asap. They are in the best position to advise you.

·
Registered
15,774 Posts
It depends on how deep the thrush infection goes and how deep the crack in the sulcus is. I have used Tomorrow on my horses when needed and I use it every day for 5 days. Clean the frogs & sulci out real good, fill the sulci with the Tomorrow and put the horse in a dry area to stand for a few hours. You want to give the frogs time to dry out and the meds time to soak in thoroughly.

·
Registered
6,886 Posts
I have never heard of using mastitis meds on a horses hoof. You may want to have his front feet xrayed if that thrush does not clear up . Also find a good farrier.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·