The Horse Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My mule, Sadie (13.2hh), is looking rather thin, her hips stick out and her ribs are visible. I have been feeding her slightly more than the bag says to, also she has for the most part unlimited grass and no hay. But she still looks thin.
Any tips, tricks, or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

·
Banned
117 Posts
Disclaimer:
I'm no expert in equine nutrition, especially equines that are not horses, but I think mules are somewhat similar to horses.

Would it be possible for you to post pictures of her?

What is her diet like?
What is she eating, specifically?
How much exactly is she eating? "Slightly more than the bag says" is not enough information.
Is this ongoing weigh loss or (relatively) sudden?
How old is she?
When was the last time she was vet-checked?
When was the last time she was wormed?
How are her teeth?
When was the last time they were checked?
What's her poop like?
What's her exercise like?
What are her living conditions like?
How long has she lived there?
Is there anything to worry about or particularly stressful?

I don't believe you have added enough information. There are just so many factors that go into nutrition (and why an equine is losing weight and what to do about it); we need to now those factors before offering advice.

Generally (and rather over-simplified), weight is about calories in and calories out. When an equine loses weight, that means there are more calories "out" than "in." That can be caused by simply no enough food, too much exercise, worms, malabsorption, some gut problem(s), etc.... You need to fix the problem(s), not just the symptoms.