Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,
This is my first time EVER posting on a forum, but it's a topic I need a some advice about from people with more experience then me.

A bit about my riding experience and what not, been riding since before I could walk thanks to my mum who ran a riding school in my early years, loaned and rode various horses. Had a fantastic first horse who taught me loads, did a little of everything but mainly local eventing (unaff), wasn't superstar material but was a superstar to me till he died way too early from grass sickness a year 1/2 ago. He was on loan the last 3 years of his life, while I was at uni and other life experiences, but when home rode friends horses, which gave me a taste for dressage. Loaned a horse when I moved home when first horse died, and looked to buy a horse to bring on in dressage. Decided that with my finances that buying a racehorse from auction was best option for me and got current lad in Jan '11. He's coming on lovely and has helped me learn SO much. Currently working at home at Novice/ some Elementary movements, but competing at Prelim till he gets over the fact that I don't want him to run as fast as he can with his nose in the air after we've done canter work haha. Have also done loads of groundwork with him using various techniques from parelli's and monty roberts (the dually was a big breakthrough for our trailer loading tantrums)
HOWEVER, he is 10, has some old tendon scars, and confirmation issues that lead me to believe that competition wise he's not going to be able to cope past Medium (although i hope he proves me wrong). I don't want to write too much of an essay although it's already that way, but I have ambitions to compete up to atleast PSG.