The Horse Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just curious why the first thing anybody thinks about when they get a colt is clipping him.
I'm new to riding and horses in general but this strikes me as odd. Shouldn't the behavior of the horse be determined by his personality and the training rather than whether or not he's intact?
Again, I'm relatively new to horses so correct me if you find something off in my logic. Just alot of empathy there you know.

·
Registered
5,402 Posts
To a point he's the personality is affected by training. However the horse isn't under the control of a trainer every single second of the day. Stallions get urges and urges to act on those urges. Even a stallion well trained with a handler or under saddle can be unruly in the field near mares or other geldings. It's also near impossible to board a stallion and many people won't consider buying one either.
Posted via Mobile Device

·
Registered
502 Posts
Now, I'm not at ALL experienced with stallions. But from my limited observations of stallions I've seen handled or have been around...

Some were a handful, constantly testing their handler. One or two I remember were what I would consider somewhat dangerous and in need of a very experience horse person. My old instructor's Friesian stallion seemed like a dream under saddle, but on the ground? I wouldn't go near him. But on the other hand, I've seen some who were puppy-dogs. I once lunged a horse (someone was teaching me how to lunge better) then loved all over him... only to find out he was a stallion! He had me fooled. He was so cool, calm, and collected.

From what I know, gelding a stallion eliminates/minimizes hormone charged behaviors. If I had a young, intact colt (which I don't see myself having any time soon, if ever) I would certainly get him gelded. I don't have the experience or the need for a stallion. I don't plan on ever breeding.