The Horse Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've just gotten back into riding after 11 years off. (I didn't have the money during college/first working years to take lessons.) So far, I've had maybe 6-8 lessons.

Today, I was told I was too weak to ride by my instructor. I know I'm not in good shape and that being physically fit would make my riding better. (I'm 5'8" and 195lbs.) But, I'm sure I'm stronger now than when I started riding at 7.

I know I'm not naturally good with horses or at riding. I'll never be gracefully mounting or dismounting as I'm just klutzy. Previously, with lots of hard work and lesson I did become good enough to ride in shows and win. I had figured that lessons/practice would make me stronger eventually.

So, when is a person too weak to ride?

·
Registered
1,276 Posts
Uh, I dont what to be mean, but I think your instructor sounds too weak to be teaching. Coming back into riding after 11 years...of course you're going to be weak. But you need to ride to get stronger. You aren't going to be super strong after 8 lessons either, its takes months to build those muscles back up. Just keep riding and practicing you'll build yourself back up again. Practice makes perfect.

To answer your question, I don't think anyone is too weak to ride.

·
Registered
23,909 Posts
I think that was a very rough statement from your instructor. Truly. Can you sit on horse? Do you feel comfortable? Is it a safe mount? If so, just keep practicing. Heck, I had week legs/no core muscles last year. And my instructor never commented on that: she just trained me and the horse trying to accommodate my weak points. It all comes, you just need time!

·
Registered
2,061 Posts
Well, when are you to weak to ride? - when you can't lift your foot up into the stirrup iron and hoist yourself aboard.