The Horse Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
4,358 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As some of you know I am a beginner at riding.
I have been working on staying in my saddle when running and especially TROTTING!

I'm curious as to why my horse Gidgit tosses her head when she runs. She only does it when I ask her. She LOVES running up hills like no other horse,haha. It's just she gets into it at first and tilts her head down and tosses it up and starts going. Someone told me she might have sore teeth but she takes the bit so easily each time so I don't think her teeth hurt. If anyone has any ideas let me know!

·
Registered
22,320 Posts
Are you asking from a walk or trot or has she already begun to lope when you ask for the run? Does she also sling her head when asked to go from trot to canter?

·
Registered
4,358 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
it's when I ask her to trot and lope....walking is perfectly fine. Yesterday I was taking her for a walk down the road and I decided to have her jog with me and she didn't toss her head at all....she was fine and looked happy.

·
Registered
22,320 Posts
Without seeing what she is actually doing, when, and all the other little details, I would guess that she is using her head to pick herself up because she doesn't have the impulsion needed to smoothly transition to that higher gait. I see it often on young horses who haven't figured out how to use their body yet. I would work on tons of transitions and do some smaller sized circles at a trot, try to get her working on her butt instead of the forehand. I can't say that is for sure the problem but it is the first thing that comes to mind. Having her teeth checked and feeling for back pain wouldn't hurt either.

·
Registered
4,358 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Well before I got her she use to do that...head toss...she grunts too.
She has more muscle up front than on her high end so I think she uses her upper body more than her back.