The Horse Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
A year ago I started learning about hooves and how to start doing my own trims, but not being confident enough from lack of experience I hired on a new trimmer. My trimmer has been working on their hooves since last Spring, and i'm wanting to get back into doing them myself. I've received some feedback about my standardbreds hooves from another thread here (the "what is going on with these shoes" thread), but I am hoping to get some opinions about my Quarter Horse here.

These photo's were taken after a fresh trim (I apologize they are not of the greatest quality).
I will post brighter photos (taken on day 3 after the trim) on the next part but wanted to post the originals first.

What I am hoping to get here is what you think about the trim, does it look good, what could be changed (if I were to do it myself next time?) I've been told that too much toe was removed (all three mares show sole pressure at the toe area following this trim cycle).

I may even post my third mares hooves in this thread as well but I'll make sure to point out that it's a different horse.

Attachments

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Here are the "brighter" photos taken from day 3.
I have softened up the quarters since they were left as sharp edges.

Attachments

·
Registered
8,457 Posts
Following. Looks to me like there isn't much hoof wall left at the toe, but I really don't know much about it so hopefully others will jump in!

Probably should have some pics of the hoof on the floor as well so angles can be seen.

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Hopefully these are ok! My front-on photos ended up awful and were taken on angles.

You'll also notice a big lump on one of her hinds, if anyone is curious we had x-rays done in 2012, it's osteoarthritis she got as a 3 year old with her previous owner.

Attachments

·
Registered
59 Posts