The Horse Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Edit: guess I put this in the wrong section accidentally. Mods feel free to move it if necessary. :)

How many of you guys trim your own horses? I'm just getting into it, and it's time to buy a hoof stand. I only want to spend money on this once, so I want a nice one that will last me. I will be trimming my own two horses, and maybe more down the road if I am confident enough with my skills.

The HoofJack has been around for a while, and everyone seems to have good things to say about it. There's just something I don't like about the plastic stand. The TruComfort is newer and I have not heard much about it, but works on the same principle. It is a tad more pricey and it looks nicer to me.

Hoofjack - Hoof Stand, The Ultimate Hoof Support System

The Institute of Applied Equine Podiatry - Sole Mates Tru-Comfort Hoof Stand

What do you think?

·
Registered
2,324 Posts
I trim my horse's feet, and at the moment I have a home-made hoof stand but I plan on buying the HoofJack. I've seen it in person and it's pretty darn durable.

·
Registered
23,909 Posts
Yeah, it's probably better to move to different section.

Getting back to your question... I used 2nd one (not exactly same brand, but similar design), mostly because I was able to get it twice cheaper than the 1st one off eBay. Worked for me just fine. But the farrier I talked to said 1st (plastic) one is more safe if you do horses on regular basis (which I didn't trimming just my own 2 horses). The reason is the flat bottom of my current stand is metallic and it's getting pretty sharp with time and accidentally may injure the horse. My feeling is 2nd one on your pic is not metallic so I'd think should be safe, but I've seen 1st one cheaper then $195 2nd one cost. So my choice would be 1st one!