The Horse Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
2,064 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Is there a way to tie a horse with reigns up to a post, pole, loop etc. i think i figured it out but is there a certain way to do it?

·
Registered
2,064 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Ok im not good with knot names but it may be that, what ever it is, its strong and i can pull it back leaning on the and it wont move.

·
Registered
1,649 Posts
I was taught never to tie a horse by the reins incase they spook so they won't hurt their mouth, but that might just be the ranch where we couldn't afford to have it fixed, we always tie horses by lead ropes that are tie to bailing twine attache to the fence so it's easy for them to break away when spooked (I'm making it sound like our horses spook alot, they don't we're just cautious)

·
Registered
185 Posts
I was also told multiple places to never ever tie with the reigns. If the horse spooks it can cause damage to the mouth. Even if it's not a major spook, just a quick jerk of the head of a hard couple steps back will do. I have seen it happen in person and it wasn't pretty even though the bit was a fairly mild one.

If I need to tie I take the bridle off to put on a halter or just leave one on under the bridle.

·
Registered
7,222 Posts
I third not tying with reins, unless its ground tying. And only then if you'll be gone for a short time and the horse is well trained to release itself and hold still.

·
Registered
1,405 Posts
Never tie a horse with the reins.

·
Registered
66 Posts
I ride with a hackmore bridle so there's no bit so if your horse is well behaved, use one of these bridles. I personally like them better that bits because bits hurt the horses mouth. You can tie them to a post with the reins and it obviously wont hurt their mouth.

·
Registered
7,135 Posts