Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
171 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello!

I'm thinking about riding my gelding with spurs.

We're working on basic dressage at the moment. I'm having a really hard time getting him into an active trot. Even using tons of leg, bumping him each stride, he's plodding along. Today I tried doing some schooling outside of the arena, to see if he's bored of the arena, but no, same thing again. Random transitions don't wake him up, a hard kick won't wake him up, and I haven't tried using a whip yet. I'd rather not, because I know from experience that he'll buck if I do. He's bloody lazy!

I've never used spurs before. I do have an independent seat, and feel like I have good control over what my legs are doing. I'd like him to learn to respect my leg a little bit more, and how I'll do that is to ask him nicely with my leg, then prod him with my spur if he doesn't respond.

Does anybody have tips or advice, or anything for me to think about? Or even methods to liven him up without resorting to artificial aids would be good. I'm having such a hard time trying to push him into the bridle, he'll tuck in his nose and be a good boy when I ask, but I'd really like some energy so he'll be classically on the bit too!

·
Registered
1,108 Posts
I'd rather not, because I know from experience that he'll buck if I do. He's bloody lazy!
Sounds to me like he's got you all figured out, and that a buck has become his tool to avoid the crop, and he can ignore the rest without much consequence. ;)