The Horse Forum banner
1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi! I’m originally from Alabama and have been riding horses for as long as I can remember.

When I enter college on an academic scholarship I took a three-year hiatus from riding a horse ownership. But after I graduated from college, started undergraWhen I enter college on an academic scholarship I took a three-year hiatus from riding a horse ownership. But after I graduated from college, moved to Texas, started graduate school, got married and got my career running, I decided that my three-year hiatus was over.

I recently began searching for my first horse after my hiatus and it has been a NIGHTMARE OF AN EXPERIENCE.

As an English rider I understand the expenses that come along with horse ownership and training, but I’m not even looking to show!

And even though I tell Barns this and trainers, they are adamant about certain prices and things that I “need” even when I say that that’s not what I want.

They constantly try and push me into purchasing horses that are way higher than my budget of $4500. Every horse I DO find in my budget, something is “wrong” with it because it doesn’t meant the crazy standard I don’t even have. Or I’m pushed into buying horses that aren’t even what I’m looking for. I understand that $4500 isn’t a lot, but I’m a 23 year old grad student. I don’t have $10,000 to spend on a horse at this time.

I’m always upfront about my budget, about what I’m looking for, and the fact that I’m not interested in showing. I always say that I just want an English riding horse for leisure: no showing, no intense training, just a pleasure horse that I can jump and ride at my will, with weekly lessons to make sure I’m maintaining proper form.