The Horse Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
882 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am fairly new to the horse world (started riding 5-6 months ago) and I am interested in minimalistic riding. Currently I use a bosal and I try to ride bareback (with a pad or without) regularely. I am looking into treeless saddles and I was wondering if anyone here has ever ridden with a war bridle?? Is it comfortable for the horse? Can you give cues properly? Would you recommend this type of tack? Is it bad for the horse's mouth? (The horse I ride is neck reined so I wouldn't be pulling alot in it's mouth)

·
Premium Member
16,046 Posts
That is different to the war bridle I was given when in the US, that one worked under the top lip with a cord going back to the saddle over the top of the head to stop the horse getting its head down to buck.

With the one pictured, neck reining or not, you are going to be in contact with the mouth and there is no way to use an individual side.

·
Registered
1,730 Posts
If your horse neck reins well, use a halter and reins, that's about as minimalistic as you can get. You've only been riding for 6 months, and the bridle in your picture should not be used by a novice rider. My first thought on seeing it was that the amount of leverage applied could wind up breaking the horses jaw. There's also no way to lead the horse from the ground, or tie the horse if needed.

·
Registered
882 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
If your horse neck reins well, use a halter and reins, that's about as minimalistic as you can get. You've only been riding for 6 months, and the bridle in your picture should not be used by a novice rider. My first thought on seeing it was that the amount of leverage applied could wind up breaking the horses jaw. There's also no way to lead the horse from the ground, or tie the horse if needed.