The Horse Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I have been having weekly private lessons for about 10 months now. They consist of walking/trotting around the school and in 20 metre circles for about 45-50 minutes, then at the end a canter down the length of the school a few times. There is very little variation, is this the norm or does anyone else do different things in their lessons?

·
Registered
104 Posts
I have been riding for ten years as opposed to ten months, so my lessons are a lot different than yours. I own my own horse now, but I will try to remember what my lessons were like when I was relatively new to riding. When I first would get on I would begin to warm up by walking and trotting around. Yes I did lots of circles, serpentines, went across the diagonal, etc. All the while my instuctor would critique my position. When I started to advance she would focus more on teaching me how to improve my horse's way of going. How to get him to go into frame, keep a steady rhythm, get him on the bit, getting him to really bend around my leg on the circles, all that stuff. Although she still critiqued my position it became more about perfecting the horse, through the way you rode. Of course there was cantering too. At first the main focus was to teach me to canter correctly and not flop up and down on his back. Then more canter work was incorporated into my lessons. Another thing I did was lots and lots of transitions. Usually at the end of my lesson we would jump, which was my favorite part. If you are concerned that you are not learning anything new, talk to your instructor about it. Also what discipline is she teaching you? I dont know much about western, but if you ride english ask about jumping or learning dressage. Mind you, ten months isn't a very long time to have ridden, so you may not be ready for that yet. Ask your instructor to take you out for a trail ride or to teach