The Horse Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a farmer growing hay products and considering lacing our oat hays with pea to increase palatability and protein. I know adding peas is a big win for cattle but I know some horse owners are very picky.

As well, we were going to grow teff last year but did not get much feedback last year on it so did not do it. I know from testimonials it is a very high quality product for horses but if owners will not buy it, that is a moot subject.

So, are YOU stuck on grass hays? Have you ever tried other stuff?

We only make smaller round bales right now. I would like to learn if horse owners mostly only buy small squares? I would consider it if there is a market but we do not barn store our products and rounds just perform well outside. We sold about half our yield shortly after baling so was never rained on. However, I have read countless posts that indicate "rained on hay is junk". I can prove otherwise but not sure it would matter?

·
Registered
6,303 Posts
As well, we were going to grow teff last year but did not get much feedback last year on it so did not do it. I know from testimonials it is a very high quality product for horses but if owners will not buy it, that is a moot subject.

So, are YOU stuck on grass hays? Have you ever tried other stuff?
You'll need to give some information about your location since forages vary widely in the different climates.

I wouldn't have a problem feeding teff from the reports that I have read, but being an annual and with the yields that I've seen, I would find it hard to believe that it could compete, price wise, with fescue, which is an extremely hardy grass, that is typical in this part of NC. I don't know anyone that grows teff here.

We only make smaller round bales right now. I would like to learn if horse owners mostly only buy small squares?