The Horse Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to horses and want to make sure I'm taking good care of them. Safe Guard was recommended to me for daily grain but I also have a local feed store that mixes horse feed. Here is what their label says:

Crude Protein Min...10.0%
Crude Fat Min...2.5%
Crude Fiber Max...10.0%

Ingredients: corn, oats, soybean meal, molasses products, condensed whey, condensed lignin sulfonate, vegetable fat product (feed grade), vegetable oil, lecithin, and many more items.

Without typing the whole list of ingredients, I'm hoping to get a good feel of if this is a good feed or not. I'm leery of corn being the first ingredient - I didn't think horses ate corn?

·
Registered
1,639 Posts
To this basic list of ingredients I say yuck.

I don't want molasses in any feed I give.

I only give corn, oats or oil as separates if I need to for a specific underweight horse issue.

I don't think I have ever fed whey

And I won't buy food for myself or my horse with 'condensed lecithin and many other items' in the ingredients.

Reactions: Foxhunter

·
Registered
5,801 Posts
Well.... it depends.
First of all, learning about basic nutritional needs of a horse, as amigoboy suggested, is a very good idea.
Then, as you will learn then, roughage is the most important item, hay or grass, and enough of it. Then, if that isn't enough, because your horse is a hard keeper or works a lot, or both, you need to consider adding calories.
Horses do eat corn, but most of the time don't really need it. Oats are the safest grain there is for horses, and adding a general vitamin/ mineral supplement, and salt, should cover even moderate activity caloric needs.

To give you more specific advice we would need to know what type of horse, what activity, current living condition, pasture or drylot, or stalled, body condition.

·
Super Moderator
18,137 Posts