The Horse Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
83 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my new guy Ty, hes a 3 year old paint gelding. I was going to use him for jumping once he's a bit older. can you tell me what you think of his comfirmation?
I put in one of his movement just for fun :) Sorry if these aren't good photos!
Horse Bridle Mammal Halter Vertebrate

Horse Mammal Vertebrate Mane Mare

Horse Mammal Vertebrate Mane Stallion

Horse Mammal Vertebrate Mane Stallion

·
Registered
79 Posts
I'm gonna test out my conformation skills on your paint, don't take my answer to seriously, I've only just started this stuff. Okay here goes:
-sickle hocked
-booty high
-I think his neck ties in low
-steep shoulder? steep croup?
-steep&short pasterns in the hind
Again, this is my first try, listen to the experts:) He is an adorable little thing:)

·
Registered
4,501 Posts
Going by the 2nd photo alone, where he is standing the best, he appears to be to have a nice shoulder and sufficient depth through the girth
Neck ties in low and is long
Shorter cannons, but nothing seriously off about his front legs
Back is ok
Bumhigh at this point but may even out yet
I like his bum. Very quarter-horsey
He does, however, appear to be quite sickle-hocked in the hind legs, which i know is not a desirable trait in jumpers. Let him develope some more and see how he does, though. Many horses with sickled-hocks can jump, it just may lead to soundness issues later on in life.

·
Registered
49,774 Posts
I see good balance, nice long neck, ties in correctly, IMO. low set hocks, could be slightly sickle hocked. A bit downhill. Seems to have decent bone. There's a lot to like about him and he's only going to get better.

·
Registered
4,047 Posts