The Horse Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all. Like the title says, what qualities should a lesson horse possess? Conversely, what are red flags to watch out for? I'm an adult beginner, currently looking at switching barns and really want to find a program with a solid string of lesson horses [and a great trainer.] I have an idea of what to look for but would love to hear from those who have years of experience.

·
Banned
91 Posts
For a beginner, you want a well-rounded, happy-medium horse. A docile, well-trained mount.
You want a horse that is a little on the lazy size (more "whoa" than "go"), calm, and forgiving. You want a horse to be sensitive enough to obey intentional commands, but "dull" enough to ignore unintentional. Many beginners tend to grip, slide, pull, flop, etc. You don't want a too sensitive horse to "stop. go. stop. go. speed. speed. slow." with every move that a beginner makes.
There is no such thing as a "bomb-proof" horse. Any horse of any age/training/breed/etc. has the potential to spook. However, you want a horse that knows what is expected - "been there - done that." One that knows that area and the people where it is worked. Overly nervous or excited horses are not suitable for beginners.

For starters, you want a horse that is healthy, obviously. Any horse that is underweight, lame, has an inappropriate coat (thick winter in mid summer, bald patches everywhere, super dull, etc.), neglected hooves, etc... should not be used.
Any horse that has white patches where the saddle goes (maybe old, so not a total, instant, turn-off) or bloody mouths should not be used.
You want horses to be not be grumpy. Lesson horses can tend to be sour with the round-a-bout, repetitive ways of giving lessons. Slight boredom is expected, maybe, but if the horse is ear pinning, tail swishing, head tossing, etc. the whole interaction, that is a red flag. It could also indicate pain.