The Horse Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello! I am relatively new to horses. I have grown up around them, but never had one of my own until now! I rescued a 2 yo quarter horse stallion (was actually gelded today) and he stands about 13.1 hands. I was hoping he would get a little taller, as some told me he would. But today the Vet told me that he probably wouldnt get any taller. I had thought that horses grew until they were about 5. Do you think he will get any taller or do you think he is about done growing? Thanks!

Attachments

·
Super Moderator
14,747 Posts
His legs probably are about done growing but his body has a ways yet to go...
He's still pretty gangly looking to me and "baby-ish" in appearance.
Often once gelded horses do grow a bit taller where as intact studs tend to bulk up from the hormones I had experience with.
He won't be huge by any means, but will probably add a few inches in height and broaden in width as he matures..
Being he was a rescue you may not know his lineage, aka parents or blood line, and as a rescue if his nutrients were depleted {starved} he may be a bit stunted, and then again with good food fed he may surprise many and develop late as some do...
So much is bloodline, so much is nutrition and so much is just luck-of-the-draw.

Welcome to the Forum...

Your guy is a cutie!! :smile:
:runninghorse2:...

·
Registered
1,336 Posts
A lot of the growing that happens up until 5 is skeletal - the growth plates are fusing in the joints and spine - plus horses tend to 'fill out' more.

He looks young still - I can definitely see him continue to fill out and widen a bit. I'm sure he could maybe get a bit taller, but others will have a better opinion on that, however, when you say he was 'rescued', does this mean he was deprived of proper nutrients while growing? Because that can matter too.

·
Super Moderator
12,677 Posts