The Horse Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey there. Newbie question again....

I bought a nice new saddle when I got my horse but the saddle didn't fit my horse properly so I got a saddle fitter involved and got a proper saddle.
I have kept that new saddle (rode in it about 4 hours maybe) and it is in perfect condition except some dirt on the stirrups. A riding pal asked to borrow the saddle to see if they liked it and to see if it fit their horse. He loved the saddle and it fit his horse perfectly so he wants to buy it.
Here's my question: I spent $1000 for it new, what is a fair price to charge? I looked at the saddle online and it now retails for $1200. Please advise...I don't want to ask an unreasonable amount but also am not looking to be taken advantage of since I am new to horses. Thanks!

·
Registered
10,789 Posts
You will probably get widely varied answers.

First, my thought is to go by what you paid, not what they are selling for now, in terms of the bottom dollar you will accept.

2. I would start the conversation by saying something like “do you know this saddle retails for $1,200 today?”

2.1. Regardless of the reply, I would politely say that you have only sat in the saddle four hours and would like $1,000 for it. You have probably already told the person that is what you paid for it but don’t menation that again.

2.2. If you don’t already have a bottom dollar fixed in your heard that you will accept- put one there:)

For me it would $900. I wouldnt be happy with accepting “only” $900 as the saddle itself is in “right out of the box new” condition but I would:)

2.2.2. The man is essentially getting $300 off a brand new saddle that perfectly fits his horse and himself—- a stroke of absolute luck in the horse world as you are finding out, when it comes to saddle fitting, lollol

·
Registered
4,754 Posts