The Horse Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
296 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all! I'm coming out of my journal for the first time as I'm looking for some advice. This could end up a lengthy post, so I'll try to condense my thoughts. I don't really have any horse-y friends I can discuss this with, so hoping HF can fill in!

I'm an adult advanced beginner/(low intermediate?) rider of about 4 years. I've part-leased in the past but for over a year I've just been a weekly lesson student due mostly to finances. I like the barn and feel I've progressed under my trainer. But - I've started to get antsy. I'm not content with arena riding for a 30-minute-a-week (down to the minute) lesson. I daydream every day about being at the barn and forming a bond with a new horse. But the barn I'm at is expensive to ride more, and my trainer has gotten a little repetitive with her lesson plans - I've been able to tell my lessons are more of an afterthought to the one-hour advanced jumping lesson right before mine. I don't blame her, and I don't even think it's intentional, but it's tangible. I feel like I'm right on the cusp of progressing levels (hence my description of adv. beginner/low intermediate), and think with more riding and a trainer that will take every lesson seriously, I could get there.

So, along with my mind wandering so have my "eyes". I'm part of a lot of my state's horse Facebook groups. Last week I came across a versatile, safe mare for half-lease at another nearby barn for an absurdly low price. It'd be a difficult lease price to find within 45 minutes from me, and the barn is only 20 minutes away. I had a gut feeling it could be the right choice for me, so I contacted the owner and I've just got home from my test ride, which was full hour lesson so I could judge the instruction at the barn as well.