The Horse Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
994 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Okay guys this is more directed at people that have a job to do with horses, but if you wanna say how you got where you are in your horse life (not necessarily a job) then feel free!

What do you do? How did you get there?

·
Registered
6,719 Posts
When I was a teen I used to help out at a riding stable in exchange
for riding privilages
I fed, watered and groomed the horses, I would sometime tack them up too
it was hard work but I never minded though,

when my family moved to our new place. My dad made friends
with George who owned 3 horses, He asked my dad if I was interested in
looking after his horses, I had not 1 horse I had 3

·
Registered
281 Posts
I will share.
I started riding horses at age 8 years, and owning horses.
At 9 years old I joined 4h, but quit because the leader took all my camping time away.
At 12 years old I started Voluntering at an horse rescue.
At 15 years old I joined 4h again, and stayed in for two years before I quit.
My junior and Senior year of High School I took n Equine Science Management Program, working with race horses.
I have had my groomers licences for our local racetrack.
I now only use horses for my pleasure while going to college.

·
Registered
868 Posts
I worked with my trainer, everything from mucking stalls to exercising young horses. I learned ALLOT and had exposure to more horses then I can count all of different ages, disciplines and training levels.